eK! is electronic Kabalen, a web-exclusive Kapampangan journal of ideas

eK!'s press

WINNERS OF this year's Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for Literature (Palanca Awards) were honored in the annual awarding ceremonies held at The Peninsula Manila in Makati City.

Now on its 62nd year, the Palanca Awards received a total of 1,077 entries in 20 categories. Out of these submissions, 59 winning works were selected from 58 writers---with half (29 authors) are first-time winners.

Joining the esteemed roster of the Palanca Hall of Fame awardees this year is multi-awarded poet, fictionist and author Peter Solis Nery. He clinched the prestigious distinction after winning his fifth first prize for "Punctuation" under the Poetry for Children category.

During the gala ceremonies, the Gawad Dangal ng Lahi was conferred on guest of honor Department of Tourism Secretary Ramon R. Jimenez, Jr. Sec. Jimenez is a writer, mentor, former instructor, marketing communications expert, and one of the pillars of Philippine advertising. As the creative force behind the latest tourism campaign, Sec. Jimenez hopes to build enough energy around tourism to give the Philippines a positive image, making it a key driver of the country's socio-economic progress.

The Palanca Awards, the country's most prestigious and longest-running literary competition, was established in 1950 in honor of Don Carlos Palanca, Sr. The Awards aims to help develop Philippine literature by providing incentives for writers to craft their most outstanding literary works and by being a treasury of the Philippines' literary gems from our gifted writers and to assist in the dissemination to the public, particularly the students.

Now hosting a total of 2,111 winning works, the Palanca Awards has been enriching the country's cultural heritage by recognizing the best works all over the country. What started as a small yet potent collection of six short stories in 1951 has now grown into a wide and deep treasury of the finest of Philippine literature in 22 categories.

The Carlos Palanca Foundation currently has in its collection 542 short stories, 372 collections of poetry, 214 essays, 349 one-act plays, 188 full-length plays, 60 teleplays, 57 screenplays, 154 stories for children, 34 futuristic fiction stories, 83 student essays, 36 novels, and 22 collections of poetry for children. These winning works are continuously made accessible to students, and all researchers and lovers of literature through the Foundation library and its official website, www.palancaawards.com.ph.

The 62nd Palanca Awards winners include:


Dulang Pampelikula
1st – Rodolfo Vera ("Death March")
2nd – Richard S. Legaspi ("Primera Bella")
3rd – Mia A. Buenaventura ("Ang Bulag na Musikero")

Dulang Ganap ang Haba
1st – Vincent M. Tañada ("Ang Bangkay")
2nd – Luciano Sonny O. Valencia ("Ang Penitensiya ni Tiyo Renato")
3rd – Allan B. Lopez ("Melodrama Negra")

Dulang May Isang Yugto
1st – Joshua Lim So ("Joe Cool: Aplikante")
2nd – Renerio R. Concepcion ("Kumandong Nakaiswat")
3rd – Erick D. Aguilar ("Terminal")

1st – Enrique S. Villasis ("Crocopedia")
2nd – Kristian Sendon Cordero ("Pagsalat sa Pilat")
3rd – Alvin C. Ursua ("Kumpuni")

Tulang Pambata
1st – John Enrico C. Torralba ("Gusto Ko Nang Lumaki")
2nd – Peter Solis Nery ("Sa Mundo ng mga Kulisap")
3rd – Nely T. Azada ("Sampung Tula Para sa mga Bata")

Maikling Kuwento
1st – Mark Benedict F. Lim ("Banaag")
2nd – Honorio Bartolome de Dios ("Ang Tawo sa Puso ni Teresa")
3rd – Mar Anthony Simon dela Cruz ("Darleng")

Maikling Kuwentong Pambata
1st – Will P. Ortiz ("Ang Tatlong Bubwit at Bangkang Marikit")
2nd – Bernadette V. Neri ("Atang sa Kaluluwa nina Apong Salawal at Apong Saya")
3rd – Luz B. Maranan ("Ang Pangat, ang Lupang Ninuno, at ang Ilog")

1st – Niles Jordan Breis ("Go-See, Kraw Gen, Intro: Sa Daigdig ng Promo")
2nd – Elyrah L. Salanga-Torralba ("Utang Ina") 3rd – Jing Panganiban Mendoza ("Redempsiyon")

Kabataan Sanaysay
1st – Jan Francis B. Asis ("Sa Ingit ng Pinto")
2nd – Gerome E. De Villa ("Sa Aking Pagbuklat sa mga Makabagong Pahina")
3rd – Jueliand Peter A. Perez ("Madyik Bisikleta")


Full-length Play
1st – Robert Arlo B. De Guzman ("Practical Aim")
2nd – Jorshinelle Taleon-Sonza ("The Passion of Andres")
3rd – Jose Ma. D. Manalo ("Manilatown")

One-act Play
1st – No winner
2nd – Joachim Emilio B. Antonio ("The Dust in Your Place")
-3rd – Patrick John R. Valencia ("In Bed with My Mother")

1st – Carlomar Arcangel Daoana ("The Elegant Ghost")
2nd – Charmaine L. Carreon ("The Yonic Lover")
3rd – Jason Leo G. Asistores ("Waiting and Other Poems")
Poetry for Children
1st – Peter Solis Nery ("Punctuation")
2nd – Anca Bautista ("Magic Is and Nine Other Magical Poems")
3rd – Raymundo T.Pandan, Jr. ("The Ocelot and Other Poems")

Short Story
1st – Rebecca E. Khan ("In Transit")
2nd – Ian Rosales Casocot ("It Always Breaks My Heart a Little to See You Go")
3rd – Lystra Aranal ("Bright Lights")

Short Story for Children
1st – Grace D. Chong ("The White Shoes")
2nd – Raymund M. Garlitos ("Lauan, The Seed that Wanted to Fly")
3rd – Aleli Dew B. Ayroso ("Mister World and His Magical Box")

1st – Hammed Q. Bolotaolo ("Of Legends")
2nd – Martin V. Villanueva ("Dao")
3rd – Irwin Allen B. Rivera ("Patterns")

Kabataan Essay
1st – Katrina Bonillo ("Chapter One: DOWNLOADING")
2nd – Sari Katharyn Molintas ("Being Bookish")
3rd – Jhesset Thrina O. Enano ("What We Are Losing")


Short Story – Cebuano
1st – Noel P. Tuazon ("Duhiraw")
2nd – Richel G. Dorotan ("Ang Tulo Ka Mayor sa Hinablayan")
3rd – Rev. Fr. Rey B. Araneta, CM ("Abog sa Flyover")

Short Story – Hiligaynon
1st – Alice Tan Gonzales ("Lanton")
2nd – Dr. Jesus C. Insilada ("Panubok sa Pula Nga Pulos")
3rd – Alain Russ Dimzon ("Binukot")

Short Story – Iluko
1st – Danilo B Antalan ("Dagiti Sala Ti Panawen")
2nd – Fernando Sanchez ("Babato")
3rd – Sherma E. Benosa ("Dagiti 'No La Koma' ni Monika")


Peter Solis Nery

First Prize Winning Works:
1998 – "Lirio," Short Story – Hiligaynon
2007 – "Candido," – Short Story - Hiligaynon
2008 – "The Passion of Jovita Fuentes," Full-length Play
2011 – "Donato Bugtot," Short Story – Hiligaynon
2012 – "Punctuation," Poetry for Children

[About the author. Daisy D. Sabangan is connected with CID, Inc., communication service for the Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for Literature (Palanca Awards)]

-Posted: 9:00 AM 9/5/12